Blue Devils Win State Scholar-Athlete Awards

The New York State Public High School Athletic Assn. honored Huntington teams and athletes.

December 06, 2016

Seven fall varsity athletic teams at Huntington High School have earned prestigious New York State Public High School Athletic Association Scholar-Athlete Awards based on the grade point averages of respective team members.

Huntington’s girls’ swimming and diving, field hockey, girls’ cross country, golf, girls’ soccer, girls’ tennis and girls’ volleyball all received state scholar athlete team awards. Dozens of individual Blue Devil athletes were also recognized.

To receive team recognition, the team’s average GPA for 75 percent of the roster must be equal to or greater than 90.00. Higher athlete GPAs can be used offset lower ones. However, only students with a 90 or above receive scholar athlete pins, even if a student with a lower GPA was used in the calculation.

“This is a wonderful honor for our hardworking student-athletes,” said Georgia D. McCarthy, district director of health, physical education and interscholastic athletics. “These young men and women have set high goals for themselves, both athletically and academically and we are very proud of them.”

Huntington’s individual NYSPHSAA Scholar Athlete Award recipients include:

Girls’ swimming and diving: Hannah Bailin, Gabriella Bartley, Alice Bradford, Sigrid Cassell, Gaia D’Anna, Emma Farrell, Noelle Harvey, Francine Nastasi, Celine Palermo, Torre Palmer, Camille Stafford, Gretel Cassell, Caelan Clayton, Sophia Knutson and Sasha Koulakova.
Field hockey: Elizabeth Berejka, Grace Curran, Lianna DeChiaro, Jessica-Rose Greene, Alexandra Haughwout, Morgan Minicozzi, Kaitlyn Sage, Anna Wickey, Ashley Wright, Alexa Cassar, Christina Nigro and Holly Wright.
Girls’ Cross Country: Nicole Arenth, Hadley Clayton, Niamh Condon, Louise Koepele, Diya Rai-Gersappe, Marina Ruzic and Erika Varady.
Boys’ Cross Country: Daniel Danziger, Ethan Mulroy, Cornelius O’Rourke, Brendan Roller, Daniel Thompson, Jason Verville, John O’Brien, John Segreti, Sage Welte and Graham Young.
Football: Samuel Bergman, Luke Eidle, Garrett Moya, John Paci IV, Jack Stewart, Bryce Criscuola, Donald Stewart, William Vollack and Ryan Stieve.
Golf: Kyle Chin, John Lourenso, Joseph Sclafani, Patrick Sclafani, Tyler Gerbavsits, Matthew Giamo, Anthony Puglisi and Jack Giamo.
Girls’ Soccer: Christina Aureliano, Ryann Gaffney, Alexandra Lourenso, Lauren McGlone, Erin Morrisroe, Emma Petrizzi, Cathryn Ricciardelli, Katie Seccafico, Alyssa Sorensen, Nicole Muszynski, Amber Stieve, Tara Wilson and Marissa Stafford.
Girls’ Tennis: Abigail Bellistri, Mia Breitbarth, Leanne Daly, Christina DeLuca, Gabriella DeLuca, Theresa Moreno, Miranda Nykolyn and Emma Pipolo.
Boys’ Volleyball: Daniel Browne, Matthew Girimonti, Nicholas Inman, Christopher Martin, Joseph Mead, Andrew Alvarado, David Fredericks, Raul Orozco and Michael Russak.
Girls’ Volleyball: Alexandra Heuwetter, Catherine Jamison, Caroline Lenze, Rachel Moss, Madelyn Reed, Julia Rogan and Lindsay Saginaw.
Boys’ Soccer: Tyler Abedin, Natale Amato, Aidan Forbes, John Langton, Kolby Rappel, Alex Rivera, Kevin Gulizio and Joshua Yanuck.