Huntington Seniors Win Science Awards

Science Chairman Clifford Sweezy with St. John's Women in Science Society Award recipients.

Huntington Seniors Win Science Awards

July 18, 2016

A group of talented Huntington High School seniors garnered numerous science honors during the annual academic awards night ceremony in the auditorium last month.

Cole Blackburn captured the Martin Schnittman Award for Physics, which carries a $1,000 stipend. Named for a longtime Huntington High School physics teacher who passed away prematurely, the scholarship is one of the most prestigious presented each June.

Mr. Blackburn is headed to the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in the fall. He plans to study electrical engineering. The key to his success went beyond merely paying attention during classes. It involved “taking in what the teacher was saying to understand it fully.”

A key member of Huntington Robotics, the teenager and his teammates traveled twice to the FIRST world championships in St. Louis in recent years. Mr. Blackburn was also integral to the high school mock trial team’s march to the Suffolk Final Four this past spring. He also played a leading role on the Quiz Bowl team.

Science Honor Society Awards

Ripley Mars (Binghamton University, Emily Shutman (Haverford College) and Cole Blackburn (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign) were presented with this year’s Science Honor Society awards. Each of the teenagers received a certificate and a $400 stipend.

Suffolk County Science Teachers’ Association Award

Cornell University bound Elisa Medina-Jaudes was the recipient of the Suffolk County Science Teachers Association Award.

St. John’s University Women in Science Society Awards

St. John’s University Women in Science Society Awards were presented to Rachel Carpenter (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill), Samantha Conte (Stevens Institute of Technology), Nancy Fallon (Johns Hopkins University), Holly Grabowski (CUNY Queens College), Holly LoTurco (Duke University), Ripley Mars (Binghamton University), Caroline McCartney (University of Richmond), Elisa Medina-Jaudes (Cornell University), Kelly Palladino (SUNY Geneseo), Gabrielle Pellechia (SUNY Alfred State), Caroline Petrozzo (Siena College), Savannah Richardson (George Washington University), Lena Scarpulla (George Washington University), Emily Shutman (Haverford College) and Emily Williams (Cornell University).

All of the senior awards were presented by Clifford Sweezy, chairman of mathematics and science, 7-12.

Science Chairman Clifford Sweezy with St. John's Women in Science Society Award recipients.
Clifford Sweezy with Emily Shutman, Cole Blackburn and Ripley Mars.
Elisa Medina-Jaudes with Science Chairman Clifford Sweezy.
Cole Blackburn (right) with Chairman of Science & Math Clifford Sweezy.


- attributed
Placeholder image
Перевозки киев грузоперевозки киев