Kids for President! at Jack Abrams STEM Magnet School

Child's Play actors with STEM School Kids for President! honorees.

November 14, 2016

Jack Abrams STEM Magnet School Principal Donna Moro wants to make sure a group of talented youngsters in her building get the recognition they deserve after winning honors for their written work and ideas related to a fun arts-in-education program known as “Kids for President!”

The Child’s Play Touring Theatre’s “Kids for President!” program “is all about giving voice to children’s feelings and thoughts about the challenges America and our elected president will face,” according to an online description.

The program resonated across the Huntington School District. Sponsored by Huntington’s arts-in-education program the “Kid’s for President” writing project gave students an opportunity to write stories about what they would do if they were elected president.

The Huntington School District’s AIE committee presents programs designed to enhance the study of literature, humanities, mathematics, science, fine and performing arts, health and character education.

The “Kids for President!” initiative “encourages students to think about issues that are important to them and how they would approach those issues if they were president,” according to Child’s Play Touring Theatre.

Students were given the following suggestions to get them started:
• “If I were the President, I would…”
• “What is a day in the life of a President like?”
• “How would you change the world?”
• “How would kids run America differently?”
• “What will the world be like when I am 35?”
• “My advice to a new civilization…”
• “It’s important to vote because…”

Students crafted stories and submitted them with two chosen to be performed by the professional acting company for Jack Abrams STEM Magnet School third and fourth graders and six others recognized as honorable mention award winners.

Third grader Wynne Franciscovich (“The Kid Who Ran for President”) and fourth grader Jordan Thorbourne (“Kid President”) had their exceptionally written stories selected for performance.

Honorable Mention Awards went to third graders Chase Northrop (“If I were President”), Naomi Lyons (“President”), Daniel Simon (“Bobby’s Election”) and Cristian Castro Portillo (“The First Sibling”) and fourth graders Thomas Kline (“The Adventure of Tommy the President”) and Devon St. John (“Globnarr and Me!!”).

Купить домофон

別れさせ屋 埼玉県