National Honor Society Inducts 77 New Members

Some of the 77 new members of Huntington's National Honor Society chapter.

November 18, 2016

The Nathan Hale chapter of the National Honor Society at Huntington High School welcomed 77 new members during the organization’s 63rd annual induction ceremony this past Wednesday evening.

The teenagers have compiled outstanding academic records and captured the respect and admiration of their teachers. The new inductees join 49 continuing members, increasing the group’s ranks to 126. Chapter members are committed to pursuing numerous projects this year, including organizing the Relay For Life in the spring, which will raise monies for the American Cancer Society.

Principal Brenden Cusack addressed the new and continuing members along with a crowd of about 200 parents and family members. Superintendent James W. Polansky, Assistant Principals Joseph DiTroia and Gamal Smith and several Huntington School Board members also attended the induction ceremony.

“I am exceedingly proud of this cohort of young men and women,” Mr. Cusack said. “These students represent Huntington in a stellar fashion with their academic prowess, character, service and leadership. I wish each new member of the National Honor Society very hearty congratulations.”

The new inductees include Nicole Abbondandelo, Serina Aguirre, Joel Alfaro, Natale Amato, Nicole Arenth, Alyssa Befumo, Samuel Bergman, Charlotte Brosoff, Christopher Burton, Michaela Carnesi, Kyle Chin, Peter Ciccone, Niamh Condon, Veronique Daniel, Michelle D’Alessandro, Gaia D’Anna, Bethany Danziger, Lianna DeChiaro, Stephanie Demartino, Halley Deonarine, Casey DiGiacomo, Lars Drace, Xavier Edgar-McNerney, Thomas Edgar-McNerney, Luke Eidle, Megan Erhardt, Gerard Federici, Natalie Flores, Aidan Forbes, Ethan Garcia, Tyler Gerbavsits, Matthew Giamo, Margaret Giles, Sarah Glascock, Connor Grosso, John Healy and William Hebert.

The ceremony also featured the induction of Alexandra Heuwetter, Adina Kirkland, Katherine Kitzen, Levi Leach, Camryn Libes, Kaidi Lopez, Alexandra Lourenso, Ana Luna-Mancia, Aidan McCooey, Zachary McGinniss, Isabella McGinnis, Casey Moskowitz, Rachel Moss, Garrett Moya, Alexandra Muller, Francine Nastasi, Katarina Obermaier, Morgan Oh, Nolan Piccola, Isabella Piccola, Cailan Pilishook, Anthony Puglisi, Amelia Reilly, John Riley, Max Robins, Rachel Roday, Julia Rogan, Jamie Rosenbauer, Lindsay Saginaw, Katie Seccafico, Samantha Sgrizzi, Jamie Spector, Sebastian Stamatatos, Christina Varady, Erica Vazquez, Molly Warren, Sarah White, Lauren White, Matthew Wildermuth and Joshua Yanuck.

The National Honor Society’s motto is “Noblesse Oblige,” a French term that translates in English to “nobility obligates.” The new members are expected to assist all students on the path toward academic excellence through a variety of tutoring and community service activities.

Speakers during the ceremony included Nathan Hale chapter President Amanda LoScalzo, who was exceptionally articulate while discussing the organization. Executive officers Magenta Lopez (vice president), Gabriella Bartley (secretary), William Garfinkel (treasurer) and Emma Petrizzi (historian) took turns speaking about the group’s membership pillars of character, scholarship, leadership and service.

Eighth year National Honor Society faculty advisor Joseph Cohen and his second year co-faculty advisor Tara Fisher praised the organization’s newest members for their academic achievements and all-around record of excellence and expressed their belief that Wednesday night’s inductees will continue the society’s long tradition.

A variety of traditional rituals were featured throughout the evening, including the tapping of new inductees by current members and a candlelight segment in a darkened auditorium. The high school chamber choir sang “The Star Spangled Banner” and later performed Sheppard’s “Geronimo.”

A string quartet consisting of violinists Gabriella DeLuca, William Garfinkel, Miranda Nykolyn and Christian Verfenstein also entertained the crowd, providing additional grace and dignity to the proceedings.

The inductees were asked to affirm their support for the National Honor Society’s ideals by stating: “I pledge myself to uphold the high purposes of this society to which I have been selected, striving in every way by every word and deed to make its ideals the ideals of my school and my life.”

After Huntington’s top scholars paraded out of the auditorium, they were joined by their families and faculty members in the main lobby for a reception in their honor.

The high school chamber choir entertained the crowd.
National Honor Society faculty advisors Joe Cohen and Tara Fisher.
National Honor Society faculty advisors and executive board members.
еще по теме