SCMEA festival

Huntington Musicians Tapped for SCMEA Festival

Huntington UFSD is sending 62 musicians to the SCMEA festivals.

February 2, 2017

Five dozen Huntington School District musicians have been selected to participate in the Suffolk County Music Educators Association’s annual festival series in March.

Huntington has a storied tradition of sending a large delegation of top musicians to the SCMEA festival series. Students perform in one of three concerts depending upon their respective grade level. This year’s district contingent will include 62 musicians spread across grades 5-12.

“Every year, music teachers across Suffolk County nominate approximately 5,000 students for inclusion in the music ensembles,” said Eric Reynolds, Huntington’s director of fine and performing arts. “Only several hundred students are ultimately selected for each SCMEA divisional music festival. Having our students represent our school district and community in this prestigious festival highlights the excellence found inside our classrooms and rehearsal rooms.”

Huntington’s All-County performers include:

Huntington High School: Christiana DeLuca (mallets), Christopher Engle (baritone/euphonium), Sarah Frawley (Bb clarinet), Nick Haupt (trumpet/cornet), Nathan Musso (trumpet/cornet), James Obermaier (tuba/Sousaphone), Nathan Soric (Bb clarinet), Jose Suarez (trumpet/cornet), Isabella Cahill (soprano), Keenan Lyons (tenor), Haley Mortell (soprano), Mia Nitekman (alto), Abigail Semelsberger (soprano), Hannah Bailin (cello), Hadley Clayton (double bass), Maya DelGiudice (oboe), Arielle Harvey (violin), Jennifer Low (French horn), Grace McKenna (Bb clarinet), Kyle Perea (double bass), Madelyn Reed (flute), Katie Riley (French honor) and Matthew Quinn (trombone).

J. Taylor Finley Middle School: Emma Brendel (flute), Kianna Criscuola (Bb clarinet), Logan Deegan (trumpet/cornet), Matthew Lange (tuba/Sousaphone), Gemma Pellegrini (flute), Kate Sheran (Bb clarinet), Henry Stein (trombone), Chloe Buffone (soprano), Katherine Eichenberger (alto), Ashley Genao (alto), Lauren Holly (alto), Grace Kenny (soprano), Chloe Wheeler (alto), Joshua Youngquist (baritone), Jackson Dunn (cello), Alex Frawley (French horn), Lily O’Heir (flute), Ethan McGuiness (cello), Allison Quinn (violin), Ella Siepel (viola) and Grace Wildermuth (double bass).

Jack Abrams STEM Magnet School: Nadeera Ali (Bb clarinet), Nick Barretta (alto saxophone), Sophie Bradford (flute), Fiona Brosnan (Bb clarinet), Ryan Curran (trombone), Emma Glascock (trumpet/cornet), Vincent Grassi (flute), Cecilia Kye (Bb clarinet) and Alanna Kohut (viola).

Woodhull Intermediate School: Megan Donaghy (tenor saxophone), Tyler Johnson (snare drum), Stephanie Wickey (baritone/euphonium), Natalie Dunn (alto), Rachel Morina (alto), Sophia Segal (alto), Charlotte Gordan (violin), Enzo Pupillo (violin) and Charlie Siepel (cello).

“The Huntington Fine and Performing Arts Department is grateful for the extraordinary commitment to music education from the board of education and district and building administration and for the unwavering support from our faculty and staff,” Mr. Reynolds said.

Шторы нити
квартирный переезд