Huntington School Board Notes

The Huntington School Board recently held a public business meeting.

January 19, 2017

Woodhull Intermediate School Principal Traci Roethel was granted tenure by the Huntington School Board during a public meeting on January 9. The tenure appointment is effective February 3.

Woodhull’s educational leader since February 2014, Mrs. Roethel earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in elementary education at Stetson University in Florida in 1992. She obtained a Master of Science degree in education with a specialization in math at Queens College in 2003 and completed an advanced graduate certificate in educational leadership at Stony Brook University in 2009. Prior to coming to Huntington, she was an assistant principal at Candlewood Middle School in Dix Hills for four years.

Woodhull Intermediate Principal Traci Roethel

Mrs. Roethel has completed numerous educational workshops related to curriculum and improving instruction, including Columbia University Teacher’s College seminars.

Prior to embarking on an administrative career, Mrs. Roethel worked as a sixth grade math teacher and fourth grade classroom teacher in Oyster Bay and as a math consultant to the Oyster Bay-East Norwich, Shoreham-Wading River and Hicksville school districts. She was a fourth grade teacher in Volusia County, Florida for seven years before moving to New York.

Mrs. Roethel and her husband, Guenther, a pilot for JetBlue Airways, are the parents of three children; Kirsten, a ninth grader, Hailey, a sixth grader and Tyler, a third grader. Kirsten plays interscholastic and club field hockey, Hailey is a competitive gymnast and a soccer and field hockey player and Tyler plays baseball.

Huntington School Board members also took the following personnel actions:

• Approved a probationary appointment for science teacher Keith Miller.
• Authorized tenured high school English teachers John Pagano and Michael Schwendemann to each cover an additional class section during the spring semester.
• Approved a part-time appointment for high school English teacher Jennifer Rollo.
• Authorized the recall of reading teacher Margaret Matthews from the district’s preferred eligibility list.
• Approved long term substitute teacher assignments for Jennifer Rollo (English, high school), Teresa Connolly (English, high school), Timothy Pillion (classroom, Woodhull) and Marta Herrera (foreign language, high school).
• Approved Kaitlyn Hanft (Model UN), Hosun Moon Lee (drama club musical choral director) and Brian Stellato (drama club musical instrumental director) to work as club advisors.
• Approved K-2 Saturday literacy program faculty, including teachers Angela Berner, Nancy Giorgos, Vivian Joseph, Christine Lofaro, Margaret Matthews, Karen Melara and Soraya Triesel and teacher-substitutes Joan Aurilia and Suzanne Catrini. Judy Goris-Moroff will serve as the program’s administrator. A Title III LEP grant will cover the program’s costs.
• Approved Angela Berner for a curriculum writing project related to the K-2 Saturday literacy program. Her stipend will be covered by a Title III LEP grant.
• Approved winter marching band staff members, including Derek Schmelter (percussion), Amy Steinmann (percussion), Samantha Lobue (color guard) and Patrick Neary (color guard).
• Authorized Paula Shivers to provide up to four hours of professional development activities related to sixth grade math modules. Her stipend will be covered by a Title IIA grant.
• Appointed Kerri Okula as a teacher aide assigned to Washington Primary School.
• Accepted resignations submitted by Jefferson Primary School English as a new language teacher Brian Foster and J. Taylor Finley Middle School science teacher John Heyman.
• Accepted resignations for the purpose of retirement submitted by Finley foreign language/ENL teacher Mary Lou Erickson, high school foreign language teacher Silvia Gilbert, Woodhull Intermediate School classroom teacher Patricia Hearn, Flower Hill Primary School classroom teacher Eva Liberti and Washington/Flower Hill reading teacher Barbara-Ann McKenna. All of the resignations are effective at the close of business on June 30, 2017.
• Authorized Timothy Beck, Noemi Cruz and Colleen Wright to work as per diem teacher aides during the 2016/17 school year.
• Authorized Marion Guilfoy to work as a per diem substitute clerical during the 2016/17 school year.
• Authorized Kiera Dabrowski, Gail Dumaresq, Christine Fermo, Kenneth Gilbert and Kevin Travis to work as per diem substitute teachers during the 2016/17 school year.
• Authorized Christina Longobucco to serve as a per diem food service worker during the 2016/17 school year.
• Authorized Frances Beech and Teresa Connolly to work as daily recurring substitute teachers during the 2016/17 school year.
• Appointed K-2 Saturday literacy program support staff members, including teacher aides Pina Keane and Miryam Palacio, clericals Corina Garcia and Janine Johnson and substitute teacher aide Caroline Rivas. A Title III LEP grant will cover their salaries.

Видеодомофоны цветные