The 22 new members of Huntington's Art Honor Society

HHS Art Honor Society Welcomes New Members

The 22 new members of Huntington's Art Honor Society

March 4, 2019

Huntington High School’s Art Honor Society embraced 22 new members during the organization’s recent annual induction ceremony in the School Heritage Museum.

The new inductees include Katie Bonilla, Niurca Chabla-Leon, Moira Contino, Beanna Cumella, Mia D’Alessandro, Erik Flores, Olivia Genova, Julia Giles, Caroline Hartough, Vivienne LaVertu, Jessica Lemus, IsabellaRose Malone, Paige Mangan, Shyann Maragh, Raul Orozco, Caitlyn Palermo, Gianna Prosseda, Sarah Siegel, Isabella Toscano, Rocio Trujillo, Steli Vlahos and Grace Wildermuth.

Huntington High School's Art Honor Society's executive board is an enthusiastic group of teenagers
Huntington High School's Art Honor Society's executive board is an enthusiastic group of teenagers

The group is led by President Andy Ulloa, Vice President Shaye O’Beirne, Corresponding Secretary Francesca Greco, Recording Secretary Josie Fasolino and Treasurer Irtana Deslouches. Art teacher Jane Judson serves as the faculty advisor.

The evening was made even more festive by the performance of a string quartet consisting of Gabriel Medina-Jaudes, Erika Varady, Madelyn Kye and Hadley Clayton, which played a delightful selection of music as the crowd filed into the School Heritage Museum room.

Ms. Fasolino illuminated three candles on the stage during the induction ceremony, including a purple candle “to foster excellence and a dedicated spirit to the visual arts,” an orange candle “to further creative abilities among art students” and a pink candle “to bring art to the attention of the school and community.”

Mr. Ulloa led the incoming members in the recitation of the following pledge during the ceremony: “I will in my life, to the best of my ability, through my talents in art, help to create a more beautiful world for myself, for making and all living things.” Ms. O’Beirne presented the new inductees with their membership certificates.

In addition to the organization’s officers, continuing members include Colette Barron, Erin Bonitz, Katie Burton, Sophie Dellecave, Yasmin Khilji-Neal, Erika Varady, Kelly Warren, Kelly Alfaro-Alvarez, Brooke Biernacki, Anna Crockett, Elizabeth Dugan, Emma Farrell, Natalie Furman, Nataly Giron-Vincente, Molly Kessler, Angelina Larkin, Bianca Lella, Emely Lopez, Lauren LoScalzo, Karley Mathews, Jeraine Nieves, John O’Brien, Isabella Orjuela, Rosa Rivera, Nicholas Rowley, Julia Segal, Kaitlyn Smith, Alyssa Sorensen, Natalia Stamatatos, Aniyah Toro, Brandon Varady and Holly Wright.

“The purpose of the Art Honor Society is to inspire and recognize those students who have a profound love or art and demonstrate creative talent,” Ms. Deslouches told the induction ceremony crowd. “Students in the Art Honor Society work to promote art in the school, community and internationally through various activities and service projects. Its members help one another to achieve the highest standards and share the importance of art education throughout the district, the community and beyond.”

District resident and artist Pat Giles was this year’s guest speaker. Director of Fine and Performing Arts Eric Reynolds also addressed the crowd. Principal Brenden Cusack and Assistant Principals Lisette L. Lors and Gamal Smith sat among the audience, taking delight in welcoming the new members to the Art Honor Society’s ranks. Superintendent James W. Polansky was also on the scene.

Contact Mr. Reynolds at [email protected] for more information about the department’s offerings and programs. 

узнать больше

читать далее